Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
10 Years of Rally (Read 9598 times)
Bruce VA3BRS
YaBB Moderator

Scarborough
10 Years of Rally
10/05/14 at 15:12:47

I just realized that while going a box in my room that I have been working the Tall pines and various rallies for the last 10 years ( oldest worker badge is 2004  for the Tall Pines )  Grin Grin.
I would like to thank all who have helped introduce and teach me this GREAT sport, especially Trish Groom who mentioned to my brother one day while working on their Jeep " you should volunteer for the rally instead of just watching it, you get to watch it from better locations then everybody else ".
This also got me thinking, how long have you all been working / volunteering at rallies for.

IP Logged
RyanHuber
God Member

Ontario
Re: 10 Years of Rally
Reply #1 - 10/05/14 at 17:39:19

2001 Voyageurs was my first rally working, in the morning alone with an ex and then in the afternoon we were placed to help out Martin Loveridge. I had to get my HAM license ASAP after that, what a difference knowing what was going on! I'd spectated a few rallies before that, including Pines 2000, but knew I had to get into volunteering to get out of the spectator areas.

Defi 2005 was my first time codriving, for John. Full national with pace notes was a big step for a newb!

Galway 2010 was my first event driving.

Ryan Huber
VA3AWD
  IP Logged
Dave Cotie
God Member

North Bay, Ontario
Reply #2 - 10/05/14 at 18:22:21

I spectated a few of the old Rally of the Voyageurs when it ran out of North Bay. Saw Doug Sheppard in a Daytona, the Sprongl's in an Audi and some guy in a Mustang that had knocked off the exhaust and was sideways even on the straight! Someone told me that it may have been Sylvain E. I had seen them up in Temagami (Red Squirrel Lake Rd), north of Sturgeon Falls and servicing in Temagami.